Congratulations to this Year's Winners

The top prizes were announced at the annual banquet on Friday, April 27, 2018.

Thanks to all everyone who attended and everyone who entered the contest this year. For a full list of winning entries in the 2017 "Best in Indiana Journalism" contest, click below.


2017 Winners

Frequently Asked Questions
Can I nominate myself for awards?
Yes. However, some special categories like Journalist of the Year work better when you’re sponsored by an editor or news director. Please check the submission rules for full details.

Who judges the contest?
Volunteers in other SPJ chapters from around the country judge our contest in order to keep the process impartial. In exchange, SPJ-Indiana chapter members are recruited to judge other chapters’ award contests. If you would like to volunteer to be a judge, please email

How long has this contest been around?
The contest has honored the best of the best for more than 38 years. This is the 39th annual contest.

Other questions?
Email and one of the SPJ-Indy Pro Chapter team members will get back to you with answers shortly.

Past Winners
See who won in past contests by clicking on the year below. And, be sure to check back after the banquet to download this year's list.
2010 2011
2012 2013
2014   2015